Investing in Small and Rural Municipalities to Improve Service Delivery and Efficiency

Published on March 20, 2019

Ontario’s government is working to improve local service delivery and efficiency in the province’s municipalities. On March 20, 2019, Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing announced a one-time investment for many of Ontario’s small and rural municipalities.

Municipalities in Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke will receive a total of $10,736,380 to improve service delivery by finding smarter, more efficient ways to spend money that help those who need it most while respecting taxpayer dollars. This will support some of Ontario’s small and rural municipalities that may have limited capacity to plan, modernize and improve the way they provide services to their communities.


“Taxpayers need their local government to deliver modern, efficient services that show respect for their hard-earned dollars. This funding will help small and rural municipalities improve how they deliver services and reduce the ongoing costs of providing those services,” said Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing. “I look forward to continuing to work together with our municipal partners to help people and businesses in communities across our province thrive.”

Ontario’s government for the people was elected to restore transparency and accountability in Ontario’s finances. The province undertook a line-by-line review of its own expenditures, and we have been clear that we expect our partners, including municipalities, to be taking steps to become more efficient. Examples could include service delivery reviews, development of shared services agreements, IT solutions, capital investments or other projects. Municipalities will decide how to best target funding to benefit their local communities.

“Municipalities play a key role in delivering many provincial services that people across Ontario rely on,” said John Yakabuski, MPP for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke. “Taxpayers deserve modern, efficient service delivery that puts people at the centre and respects hard-earned dollars.”

The funding supports Ontario’s commitment to reduce the cost of government.




Renfrew Co


Pembroke C


Arnprior T


Deep River T


Renfrew T


Petawawa T


Laurentian Hills T


Head, Clara and Maria Tp


Horton Tp


Mcnab-Braeside Tp


Brudenell, Lyndoch and Raglan Tp


North Algona Wilberforce Tp


Admaston-Bromley Tp


Laurentian Valley Tp


Killaloe, Hagarty and Richards Tp


Madawaska Valley Tp


Bonnechere Valley Tp


Whitewater Region Tp


Greater Madawaska Tp


South Algonquin Tp




  • 405 small and rural municipalities will receive funding.
  • To ensure investments are targeted to where they are needed most, funding will be allocated based on the number of households in a municipality and whether the municipality is urban or rural.